What to do if your Mind goes Adrift (& you’re a Writer)?

MediumAdriftpic1

I climb out of my bed into the heat of the morning, trying to catch all the little creative thoughts flying around like fireflies.

I fumble with my eyes half-closed into the kitchen.

My bare toes love the coolness of the wood floor while I make lunches for my two boys.

I blast the fan in the window, letting the fresh air soothe me.

I think about a story idea that fell into my mind as I fell into my bed late last night. I see the words. I see the images. I see the “arc” of the characters.

I see “how” the sentences may easily flow through my hands and onto the page, but they don’t. Not yet. Sure, I can make the time to physically pause, and write down the sentences. I even put down my cup of tea, but…I cannot get ink to flow through the pen.

There are too many things swirling around in my mind, and so I’ll be the first to admit: it’s gone adrift.

So I ask myself: What is a writer to do when your mind goes astray?

How do you bring the words back to shore?

There’s really only one way:

Let your mind go.

Be one with the drift.

Float with the ideas.

More than likely your writing piece is still in the creative formative stages, and does not want to be penned down.

The words want to be played with in your mind. They want to stay wild.

Yes, I get that, you say, but…I need to write. I promised myself to write at least 1,000 words today. I’ve got to cage those thoughts behind the screen, onto the page.

Sure, but what if you do not force the words today?

What if your productivity actually increases by letting go, and being in the moment with whatever thoughts arise?

Be adrift.

I did, and here I am: playing on the shoreline of a new blog.

Give it a whirl!

Go play with those fireflies of creative ideas!

Copyright 2017 Jessie Zanita

Photo Credit: Issara Willenskomer/Unsplash

One thought on “What to do if your Mind goes Adrift (& you’re a Writer)?

Leave a Reply

