I woke up feeling free yesterday.

I woke up feeling free yesterday. 🌀

As if all the shadows of objectifying women had finally been brought to light.

Suddenly, I didn’t have that subconscious sensation at the back of my mind about my body being sized up for someone else’s lewd thoughts. Sensations that I’ve brushed away my whole life.

I was tied by an unspoken social constraint that often made me feel more comfortable wearing something less flattering, more practical.

Hide my pretty. Hide my curves, my long legs, my sensuality.

But that’s over because, yesterday, I finally woke up free.

In my soul, I suddenly felt that we women can put on a playful short dresses, & know that it’s about our enjoyment, not theirs.

We can dress sensually stylish without having certain eyes/minds believing that they hold the upper hand in seeing us as an object, and all of this happened because the grossest orange-haired guy’s lewd words finally sparked the most liberating feeling ever:

We, as a people, will not stand for that kind of behavior any longer.

We no longer have to hide our pretty.

We can be grown women who still hold onto the power of being a strong-willed, bright-eyed, intelligent, unicorn-loving, magic-believing beautiful girl who loves wearing whimsical dresses. (The grrrl power movement has won!)

We don’t have to hide our beautiful selves in the shadows to avoid that kind of objectifying.

Here’s the crazy thing: I didn’t know that feeling of freedom existed until yesterday.

🌀 Yes, world, we women are living, breathing, gorgeous people who will dress up pretty without ever being an object of sexual expectations ever again because those type of stories are done.

Hallelujah!

A version of this essay has been published on The Urban Howl. Check it out!

http://theurbanhowl.com/author/jessie-zanita-wright/

Copyright 2016 © Jessie Zanita Wright

Leave a Reply

